There are many standards for various technologies in the world of computer networking, and they are rarely given convenient, easy to remember names. Here’s a list of several common ones for easy reference.


StandardAboutRelated Notes
802.1ABLink Layer Discovery Protocol (LLDP) - A Layer 2 discovery protocolLayer 2 Discovery Protocols (CDP & LLDP)
802.1DSpanning Tree Protocol (STP)STP
802.1QTrunking Protocol/VLAN EncapsulationTrunking
802.1sMultiple Spanning Tree Protocol (MST)
802.1wRapid Spanning Tree Protocol (RSTP)STP
802.3Ethernet - much of the Layer 1 & 2 infrastructure of modern networking is based on this collection of standards

Request For Comments

Request For Comments (RFC)

A publication from various standards-setting organizations, most notably the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). An RFC is submitted by an individual or a group, usually in the form of a memorandum describing protocols, procedures, research, et cetera that are relevant to the Internet and its supporting systems. While not all RFCs are standards (particularly the purely informational ones), RFCs serve as the official documentation for Internet Standards.

Typically, these publications are informational in nature, though RFCs have been written purely for comedic value.

Link to original